Matthews, Bartosh to receive awards at Democratic-NPL Governors Dinner

The 6th Annual North Dakota Democratic-NPL Governors Dinner will be held on Saturday, April 22 at 6:30 PM at the North Dakota Heritage Center in Bismarck.

Becky Matthews will be awarded the “Governors Legacy of Leadership Award.” Matthews chairs the Burleigh County Commission, and often acts as a check and balance to that board. She has served with tenacity—never backing down and always standing her ground.

Zayden Q Bartosh will receive the “Hometown Hero” award. Bartosh has frequently offered testimony to the North Dakota Legislature. They have been deeply involved in organizing events, rallies, and protests. Bartosh is a stalwart advocate for the LGBTQ+ community, and is currently working to become a Licensed Addiction Counselor.

Faye Seidler, a suicide prevention advocate, will also receive recognition of excellent advocacy for her work highlighting the anti-LGBTQ bills that have been proposed this year in North Dakota, and raising awareness of the increased risk of suicide in that community as a result of this legislation.

Kristin Nelson, co-founder Project RAI, will deliver the keynote address, and a legislative panel featuring Sen. Ryan Braunberger (D-Fargo) and Reps. Jayme Davis (D-Rolette), Gretchen Dobervich (D-Fargo), and Zac Ista (D-Grand Forks) will round out the evening.

The North Dakota Democratic-NPL Governors dinner is held annually in Bismarck to honor Governors William L. Guy, Arthur A. Link, and George A. Sinner.