Senate Minority Leader Joan Heckaman (D-NPL, 23) to seek re-election

(New Rockford, ND) – State Senator Joan Heckaman announced Friday she is seeking re-election to the North Dakota Senate from District 23, which includes the counties of Eddy, Nelson, Griggs, Steele and the eastern half of Benson County, including the Spirit Lake Nation.

A teacher by training, Heckaman was first elected to the state Senate in 2006 and currently serves as Minority Leader. She completed her sixth legislative session in 2017.

Senator Heckaman saw a great deal of success during the past legislative session, both working within her caucus and across the aisle with the majority. She also believes that important work remains unfinished: “The needs of our small towns and communities, rural schools and farm country must remain a top priority,” said Heckaman. “That means addressing property taxes that hit farmers and landowners especially hard, supporting rural EMS and fire services, building educational infrastructure and caring for seniors, veterans and other vulnerable populations in communities that don’t always have access to the same levels of services as Fargo or Bismarck.”

“North Dakota is a truly great place to live and raise a family, whether you live in Fargo, Lakota, Beach or any other community in our state,” added Heckaman. “But what makes our communities strong and vibrant are the smart investments we make in each other, in our children and in our future – that’s the kind of work I’m committed to continuing in the state Senate.”

Heckaman’s appointment to the Higher Education Task Force speaks to her lifelong commitment to providing a strong bridge between K-12 education and a well-trained workforce. Since its inception in 2009, Heckaman has served as the legislative representative on the Governor’s Autism Task Force. Currently, during the 2017-19 Interim, Heckaman serves as the Vice Chair of the Agriculture Committee as well as on the Budget Section, Legislative Management, Administrative Rules, Government Administration, Legislative Revenue Advisory Committee, Legislative Procedures and Arrangements, and Tribal Taxation. 

Click here for high-resolution headshot of Sen. Heckaman.