ND Democratic-NPL Party Statement on the Iowa Caucuses

February 4, 2020

(BISMARCK, ND) – With the results of the Iowa Caucuses still in flux, the Democratic-NPL Party wants to provide additional information on the voting process here in North Dakota.

The Democratic-NPL Party will hold a Firehouse Caucus March 10 as part of the Democratic presidential primary. Everyone qualified to vote in North Dakota may cast their ballot at the 14 locations statewide. Unlike the Iowa caucuses, which consisted of multiple rounds of voting, the North Dakota Firehouse Caucus on March 10 will require each person to vote only once, much like a general election.

Voters enter the polling location most convenient to them, cast their ballot, and leave. Polls will be open from 11 a.m.-7 p.m. Central / 10 a.m.- 6 p.m. Mountain time. Third party vendor GES will tabulate the results. The process will not use any apps or devices like those used in Iowa.

Voters may also cast their ballots early by requesting a mail-in ballot through Feb. 25. To request a ballot, email [email protected], call 1-877-455-9367 (between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.), or visit demnpl.com/primary. Returned ballots must be postmarked by March 5.

Alex Rohr Democratic-NPL Communications Director said: 

“The North Dakota process is fundamentally different than Iowa’s caucuses. Where Iowans had to stay in a single location for hours at a time, North Dakotan primary voters can show up to their nearest polling location, vote, and leave. The process is designed to be as accessible as possible, to as many people as possible, while making sure every vote counts. Unlike Gov. Burgum, who campaigned in Iowa yesterday, we’re focused on North Dakota.”

Polling locations 
Fargo, Grand Forks, Bismarck, Minot, Williston, Jamestown, Devils Lake, Valley City, Dickinson, Belcourt, Cannonball, New Town, Wahpeton, St. Michael.

For more information, including addresses for polling places visit https://demnpl.com/primary/.