Tag Archive for: Ruth Buffalo

Dem-NPL elects 8 “District Delegates” to attend the Democratic National Convention, others may still apply to attend as “At-Large Delegates”

April 9, 2024

FARGO – At the North Dakota Democratic-NPL Convention, eight people out of 15 who ran were elected to serve as “district delegates” to the Democratic National Convention in Chicago. These eight will appoint 7 additional delegates.

North Dakotans who are interested in becoming delegates should complete this form by Friday, April 12 at 5:00pm CT.

District Level Delegates:
Matuor Alier
– Originally born in South Sudan, Alier immigrated to the United States in 2006 as a refugee seeking a better life for my family. Since then, he has become deeply ingrained in American society and has embraced the values of democracy and equality that this great nation stands for.
Rep. Hamida Dakane – Dakane represents District 10 in the North Dakota Legislature. Originally from Kenya, she came to North Dakota 12 years ago to attend NDSU.
Rep. Gretchen Dobervich – Dobervich has represented District 11 in the North Dakota Legislature since 2016. She grew up on her family’s farm and ranch in Slope County. Dobervich is a licensed social worker and works as a public health professional in Fargo.
Patrick Hart – Hart is the endorsed candidate for Lt. Governor running with Merrill Piepkorn. He has served as State Party Chair and Treasurer. Hart is a small business owner in Bismarck.
Landis Larson – Larson is currently the President of the North Dakota AFL-CIO. He has been involved in the District 13 Democratic-NPL and is a former legislative candidate. Larson served on Platform and Resolutions Committee and as a Sergeant at Arms for the 2024 State Convention
Kylie Oversen – Kylie Oversen currently serves as Chair of the DNC Rural Council. She served in the North Dakota House of Representatives from 2012-2016 and was elected in 2015, 2017, and 2019 as State Party Chair.
Rep. Mary Schneider – For the past 10 years, Schneider has represented District 21 in the North Dakota House. Before getting a law degree, she worked as a police officer, a deputy clerk of court, as a psychiatric aide, and a criminal justice researcher. Schneider co-counselled the ARC class action which resulted in the development of community homes and services for persons with developmental disabilities who were institutionalized in abhorrent conditions.
Will Thompson – Thompson is a candidate for the North Dakota House in District 46. Thompson wants to create diverse employment opportunities that appeal to all types of skill sets in North Dakota.

This group will select North Dakotans to serve as 2 Pledged Party Leaders and Elected Officials delegates, 3 At-Large Delegates, and 2 At-Large Alternates.

The North Dakota Democratic-NPL Automatic Delegates are:

Dem-NPL Chair – Adam Goldwyn
Dem-NPL Vice-Chair – Rep. Lisa Finley-DeVille
DNC Committeeman – Jamie Selzler
DNC Committeewoman – Ruth Buffalo

At the State Convention, Selzler was elected to serve another term as DNC Committeeman. Buffalo chose not to seek re-election to this position. Renae Aarfor was elected to serve as DNC Committeewoman; her term will start after the Democratic National Convention in August gavels out. Aarfor is the former Southeastern Regional Director for Senator Heitkamp and is currently the treasurer for District 41 and Cass County Dems Chair.

Laura Dronen
Communications Director
(701) 566-0616
[email protected]

Settlement Shows Progress, But North Dakota Must Keep Working For Equal Voting Rights


February 13, 2020

 BISMARCK, ND — The settlement for a long-fought Voter ID lawsuit was announced on Thursday, just days after a federal judge denied Secretary of State Al Jaeger’s request to dismiss it. The lawsuit by the Spirit Lake Nation, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and individual plaintiffs challenged a law passed by the Republican majority and enacted by Jaeger without any evidence of the voter fraud they claimed it would prevent.

Rep. Ruth Buffalo, an enrolled member of the M.H.A. Nation who is originally from Mandaree, said:

“It’s 2020, and we have to do better to make sure everyone has equal access to the ballot box. Perhaps North Dakota needs a statewide voting task force to ensure all levels of government are communicating and all unjust barriers are removed.”

House Minority Leader Josh Boschee said:

“It’s great to see progress continue toward addressing the negative impact the voter ID law has had on Tribal communities. The Republican majority passed this law, and Secretary Jaeger implemented it, even though it was apparent the law would keep citizens from voting. It’s a shame it took North Dakota years of taxpayer-funded lawsuits to get to this point.”