Tag Archive for: Lisa Finley-DeVille

Nicole Donaghy to receive “Hometown Hero” award at Dem-NPL Governors Dinner

April 17, 2024

BISMARCK — Nicole Donaghy will receive the Hometown Hero award at the 7th Annual Democratic-NPL Governors Dinner on Saturday, April 27 at the North Dakota Heritage Center in Bismarck.

Donaghy is a Hunkpapa Lakota from Standing Rock Nation, she is also a descendant of the Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara Nations, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa. Donaghy is the Executive Director of North Dakota Native Vote. She’s a staunch champion for voting rights and political representation, particularly for Native American communities in North Dakota. Recognizing the systemic barriers that have historically disenfranchised Indigenous voters, Donaghy has been at the forefront of efforts to protect and expand access to the ballot box.

Democratic-NPL Vice Chair and ND Representative Lisa Finley-DeVille (D-Mandaree) remarked, “In a world where our voices are often silenced, my fellow sister and I fearlessly worked to take on the injustices that our people face. Together we’ve worked on holding polluters accountable, continue to fight for clean air and water standards, educating our people on the injustices brought forth on our lands, and building power for Native communities in North Dakota. It’s the tireless dedication of everyday citizens like Nicole, who believe in the power of collective action to create meaningful change. In the trenches of our communities, she worked to sow the seeds of progress, cultivating a future where justice, equality, and opportunity flourish. A natural grassroots organizer, her passion fuels the engine of democracy, and your commitment paves the road to a brighter tomorrow.”

The dinner will feature keynote speaker Ken Martin, who is the Chair of the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) Party, President of the Association of State Democratic Committees, and a vice chair of the Democratic National Committee. Tickets are available at: https://swift-cpa.net/donate/2024governorsdinner

Dem-NPL elects 8 “District Delegates” to attend the Democratic National Convention, others may still apply to attend as “At-Large Delegates”

April 9, 2024

FARGO – At the North Dakota Democratic-NPL Convention, eight people out of 15 who ran were elected to serve as “district delegates” to the Democratic National Convention in Chicago. These eight will appoint 7 additional delegates.

North Dakotans who are interested in becoming delegates should complete this form by Friday, April 12 at 5:00pm CT.

District Level Delegates:
Matuor Alier
– Originally born in South Sudan, Alier immigrated to the United States in 2006 as a refugee seeking a better life for my family. Since then, he has become deeply ingrained in American society and has embraced the values of democracy and equality that this great nation stands for.
Rep. Hamida Dakane – Dakane represents District 10 in the North Dakota Legislature. Originally from Kenya, she came to North Dakota 12 years ago to attend NDSU.
Rep. Gretchen Dobervich – Dobervich has represented District 11 in the North Dakota Legislature since 2016. She grew up on her family’s farm and ranch in Slope County. Dobervich is a licensed social worker and works as a public health professional in Fargo.
Patrick Hart – Hart is the endorsed candidate for Lt. Governor running with Merrill Piepkorn. He has served as State Party Chair and Treasurer. Hart is a small business owner in Bismarck.
Landis Larson – Larson is currently the President of the North Dakota AFL-CIO. He has been involved in the District 13 Democratic-NPL and is a former legislative candidate. Larson served on Platform and Resolutions Committee and as a Sergeant at Arms for the 2024 State Convention
Kylie Oversen – Kylie Oversen currently serves as Chair of the DNC Rural Council. She served in the North Dakota House of Representatives from 2012-2016 and was elected in 2015, 2017, and 2019 as State Party Chair.
Rep. Mary Schneider – For the past 10 years, Schneider has represented District 21 in the North Dakota House. Before getting a law degree, she worked as a police officer, a deputy clerk of court, as a psychiatric aide, and a criminal justice researcher. Schneider co-counselled the ARC class action which resulted in the development of community homes and services for persons with developmental disabilities who were institutionalized in abhorrent conditions.
Will Thompson – Thompson is a candidate for the North Dakota House in District 46. Thompson wants to create diverse employment opportunities that appeal to all types of skill sets in North Dakota.

This group will select North Dakotans to serve as 2 Pledged Party Leaders and Elected Officials delegates, 3 At-Large Delegates, and 2 At-Large Alternates.

The North Dakota Democratic-NPL Automatic Delegates are:

Dem-NPL Chair – Adam Goldwyn
Dem-NPL Vice-Chair – Rep. Lisa Finley-DeVille
DNC Committeeman – Jamie Selzler
DNC Committeewoman – Ruth Buffalo

At the State Convention, Selzler was elected to serve another term as DNC Committeeman. Buffalo chose not to seek re-election to this position. Renae Aarfor was elected to serve as DNC Committeewoman; her term will start after the Democratic National Convention in August gavels out. Aarfor is the former Southeastern Regional Director for Senator Heitkamp and is currently the treasurer for District 41 and Cass County Dems Chair.

Laura Dronen
Communications Director
(701) 566-0616
[email protected]

Davis, Finley-DeVille push NDHSAA to address instances of racial taunting

March 18, 2024

ROLETTE, ND – Today, Representative Jayme Davis (D-Rolette), wrote to Matthew Fetsch, the Executive Director of the North Dakota High School Activities Association (NDHSAA), calling on the organization to step up enforcement of their zero-tolerance policy for racial taunting.

Davis wrote, “The Bismarck Tribune article published today, March 18, 2024, sheds light on a distressing pattern of behavior that not only tarnishes the integrity of high school athletics but also deeply impacts the well-being and dignity of student-athletes, their families, and communities. It is disheartening to learn once again, about instances of racial taunting, discriminatory conduct, and the failure to uphold respectful behavior in the stands at these sporting events.”

Davis specifically called for the NDSHAA to:

1. Conduct a thorough review of its current policies and procedures concerning fan behavior, racial taunting, and disciplinary actions, with a focus on strengthening enforcement mechanisms and promoting a culture of respect and inclusivity.

2. Enhance educational initiatives aimed at promoting cultural understanding among students, coaches, officials, and spectators.

3. Foster meaningful partnerships with communities, schools, and organizations to address systemic issues of racism and discrimination within the realm of high school athletics.

4. Provide clear channels for reporting incidents of racial taunting and discriminatory behavior, ensuring that victims and their families feel supported and empowered to speak out against these offenses.

Last week, Representative Lisa Finley-DeVille (D-Mandaree) wrote a letter to newspapers in North Dakota describing an incident from Feb. 9 when students from Wilton called players for the Mandaree Warriors basketball team derogatory names and racial slurs.

Finley-DeVille said, “In response to the racism, I am calling on the North Dakota High School Athletic Association to act against racism, bias, and bullying in sports. It is not enough to create rules that are not enforced. As a parent and grandparent and District 4A representative, I unequivocally condemn these behaviors. It is antithetical to the values of respect, inclusion, and fairness that we are taught to uphold. There is no place for racism in North Dakota.”