Democratic-NPL Elects Executive Officers

April 15th, 2019

Democratic-NPL Elects Executive Officers
(BISMARCK, ND) – Saturday in Bismarck, the Democratic-NPL Party elected its Executive Officers, including Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. Each Executive Officer will serve a two-year term, concluding in 2021.Kylie Oversen was elected Chair of the Democratic-NPL Party, and Patrick Hart was elected Vice Chair. Both will also serve as members of the Democratic National Committee throughout the length of their terms. “I am excited to get back to working on behalf of North Dakotans of all political stripes,” said Oversen. The Democratic-NPL is committed to building an economy that works for all, strengthening communities across the state, and making sure all North Dakotans can realize the American dream. I’m grateful to be back at the helm, fighting for this great state.”

Oversen will be taking over for Warren Larson, who served as Party Chair for ten months. ”I truly have enjoyed every minute of my work as Chair of the North Dakota Democratic-Nonpartisan League.  However, it’s the right time to retire and turn over the reins to a new Chairperson. As we move toward the 2020 elections, the state party is in the best position it has been in for many years,” said Larson.  “We are fully staffed, financially sound, and have no debt. Plans are in place to build on the successes we had in 2018 when we gained House seats for the first time since 2008 and Senate seats for the first time since 2014, all in districts Donald Trump won in 2016. I look forward to watching the new Chairperson accelerate our goal of providing a state government that listens to, and works for, the people of North Dakota.”

In addition to Oversen and Hart, Angel Young of Bismarck was elected to serve as Secretary, and Waylon Don Pretends Eagle was elected to serve as Treasurer. Ms. Young succeeds Representative Ruth Buffalo of Fargo, while Mr. Don Pretends Eagle succeeds longtime Treasurer Colleen Popelka of Mandan.